Episode 7: The Great Australian Bake Off – Pastry and a little Gluten free


Signature Bake Challenge was all about  Gluten Free. 

I have always lover the traditional Linzer tart its one of the worlds oldest recorded recipes. This inspired me to take something old and make it new, well the best way I know how.  Off course if you don’t like raspberry you can make strawberry jam or even plum it all works beautifully together. The pastry is lovely to work with and no rolling pin required.

“Spiced Raspberry Tart”

13_mariatart

1146536_434098646706378_1619758067_n

Shane’s in love with raspberry jam!

16282_434098886706354_100309812_n

We are all enjoying some of Monique’s left over figs…..delicious!

Technical Bake Time!

556466_10151625728674150_250230391_n

The dreaded technical bake was soon to follow, the French crescent moon the Croissants!  Even though it caught us by surprise it was the first time I felt a little at easy. This was the first technical bake that I had made at home and even though it was almost 10 years ago for the first time I felt a little confident…..as scary as that sounds.  My croissants didn’t fail me they were golden and flaky all puffed up Im sure I made this french pastry proud. Judgment time and they got “1st” YAY!

1150137_10151625733499150_26372314_n

The ALL important “SHOWSTOPPER”

20130817_172631_4_bestshot

“STRUDEL” I think I can still hear host Shane saying “STRUDEL”

I had watched my grandmother and mother use the method of stretching the wet dough to make these supper fine sheets it take patience and a very large table. But in my wisdom I chose to make the Filo Pastry the traditional way using a very thin long rolling pin and a copious amount of cornflour which helps to stop the pastry from sticking together. Once this process has been completed each sheet is coated in golden melted butter to help the sheets cook and crisp through as well as add enough flavour to appease and French pallet. The real challenge with a strudel “no-mater” what the filling is the final presentation and I think a simple stencil and some sugared cinnamon was just the touch my strudel needed.

20130820_212322

546896_10151625752319150_1877066558_n

4_studdlefig

RECIPE!

20130817_173926_2

Gluten Free – Spiced Raspberry Tart

Ingredients

Serves 10 – 12
For the pastry
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 250g gluten-free flour
  • pinch of baking powder
  • pinch of bicarbonate of soda
  • 3 teaspoons icing sugar
  • ½ teaspoon ground ginger
  • ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon ground cloves
  • 200g butter
  • 1 free-range egg yolk
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • zest of 1 lemon
For the jam
  • 1kg raspberries
  • 1kg A1 sugar
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • ¾ x 50g packet Jamsetta (pectin)
To finish
  • ½ cup sliced almonds
  • 1 free-range egg yolk, beaten, for the egg wash
  • cinnamon and stencil for dusting
Utensil
  • 1 x 25cm fluted loose-based flan tin

Preparation Method

Place the almond meal, flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, icing sugar, spices and butter into a food processor bowl and process until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Add the egg yolk through the feed tube and process until combined. Split the vanilla pod and scrape the seeds into the dough along with the lemon zest.

Place the dough onto a floured worktop and knead lightly until smooth. Cut off one-third and roll into a ball. Shape the remaining pastry into another ball. Wrap in cling wrap and chill for 20 minutes.

Roll out the larger pastry ball. Line the tin, then place it back in the fridge to rest the pastry. (A hint for rolling out this pastry, as it is quite crumbly: spray your worktop with oil. Place a large piece of cling wrap on top and roll the pastry out onto it. This will make it easier to pick up.) Roll out the smaller piece of pastry onto baking paper. Cut a small circle (18cm) to sit on top of the tart. Chill the base and top for 10 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 150°C. Wash the raspberries. Place the sugar in a deep pan and heat in the oven for 6 minutes. Place the raspberries in a separate heavy- based pan with the water and lemon juice. Mash the fruit and add the warmed sugar and Jamsetta, stirring constantly. Bring to the boil and cook, bubbling, for 5—10 minutes. Skim off any scum and discard. (To test if the jam is set, place 3 saucers in the freezer. Once cold, place 1 level teaspoon of jam on the first saucer. If set, the jam should wrinkle once cool; if not continue cooking for a further 3 minutes and test again on a fresh saucer.)

Preheat the oven to 180°C. Fill the chilled pastry case with the jam and cover with the decorated circle of pastry. Place almonds around the circle. Brush the pastry with egg wash and bake for 20—25 minutes. Decorate by sifting the cinnamon over the stencil before serving.

Thank you to judges Kerry Vincent and Dan Lepard

for there wonderful comments and off course being chosen as STAR BAKER.

13_mariatart

7 thoughts on “Episode 7: The Great Australian Bake Off – Pastry and a little Gluten free

  1. 2paw

    I find gluten free pastry difficult, I shall have to give this a go,. I just love the way you decorated, everything looks so wonderful!! Can’t wait for tomorrow night’s episode, I shall be ad when the show is over.

  2. elevator dealers in san diego

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and
    sources back to your webpage? My blog is in the
    very same niche as yours and my visitors would really benefit from a lot of the information you present
    here. Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Regards!

    • Maria Vella

      Thats very exciting, I love my blog and I hope you enjoy building yours. Yes I am happy to share posts and I look forward to reading your blog posts too. 🙂 Have a great day Maria

Leave a comment